HAWKS 15’s Wins MAYB – Denver Tournament

HAWKS 15’s Wins MAYB – Denver Tournament

Monday, June 26

2006 MAYB Denver “A” Championship

The Colorado HAWKS (15’s) won their third summer tournament by beating the Ballers Basketball Club 54-43 in the 9th/10th grade division championship game Sunday afternoon at Chaparral HS in Parker.

The HAWKS team finally got a win against the Montbello-based Ballers team (16’s) who had beaten them soundly in their first two encounters this summer.

In their victory, the HAWKS team was led by the great 3-point shooting of Cameron Johnson and Noe Magdaleno and the tremendous rebounding of Terrell Thompson, Isaac Okoye, and Anthony Owens. In the second half, Terrance Smith, Luis Giles, Matt Tucker, and new addition Brandon Kaufman sealed the victory with their slashes to the basket, timely passes, and great defense.

The team went undefeated thru the entire tournament (6-0) and beat the Colorado Springs Force, Kansas Clippers, and New Mexico Running Rebels in pool play. In bracket play, they defeated the Basketball and Beyond Club in the quarters and the Colorado Springs Kings in the semifinals before winning the championship.

Team Roster:

Anthony Owens
Armando Galvan
Brandon Kaufman
Cameron Johnson
Isaac Okoye
Isiah Kampeska (on vacation)
Luis Giles
Matt Tucker
Noe Magdaleno
Terrance Brockman
Terrell Thompson

Congratulations on another great showing!